Payments in Brazil

PagBank vs Mercado Pago vs Pagar.me

PagBank, Mercado Pago, Pagar.me side by side: price, free tier, what matters in Brazil, who each one fits and when to skip it.
Item
What it doesPagSeguro's bank and gateway: checkout, payment links and recurring payments with Pix, boleto and card, paid into a PagBank account.Mercado Livre's payments arm: checkout, payment links and subscriptions with Pix, boleto, card and Mercado Pago balance.Stone's online payments platform: API, checkout, payment links, subscriptions and split, with payouts into a Stone account.
Best forA SaaS that already uses a PagBank account and wants to sell plans in up to 18 installments with a ready-made checkout.A SaaS selling to consumers who already pay with a Mercado Pago account, where a familiar checkout and paying with balance or Pix lifts conversion.A SaaS or marketplace that needs split between sellers and card money the next day, and is fine running its finances through Stone.
Skip it ifMost of your customers pay by Pix, since 1.89% per Pix on the checkout is well above gateways that charge a flat fee.You want card money fast at a low rate, since getting it right away costs 4.98% and the 3.98% rate means waiting 30 days.You want to compare every fee before signing up, since only the Pix and one-time card rates are public and the rest goes through sales.
SetupNeeds a developer. A payment link the same day; a subscription flow takes a few days, plus however long the integrations team takes to release production.A little code. A payment link in minutes from the app; a checkout plugged into your product in a day or two.Needs a developer. A few days: the account review, then up to 3 business days for Pix; the integration itself in 2 to 4 days of development.
PricePay per transaction: 1.89% per Pix, card from 3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)Pay per transaction: 0.99% per Pix, R$3.49 per boleto, card 3.98% to 4.98% by payout timePay per transaction: 0.99% per Pix, 4.19% one-time card; other rates not public
What it costs in practiceA SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 on card, paid in 30 days: 200 × (3.99% of R$49 + R$0.40) ≈ R$471 a month, about 4.8% of revenue (estimate). Getting it in 14 days: 200 × (4.99% of R$49 + R$0.40) ≈ R$569.A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 (R$9,800 a month): by Pix, 0.99% ≈ R$97; by card waiting 30 days, 3.98% ≈ R$390; by card paid right away, 4.98% ≈ R$488 (estimate).A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 on card (R$9,800 a month): 4.19% ≈ R$411 a month in fees (estimate). Pix one-off payments would cost 0.99% ≈ R$97, but subscriptions don't take Pix.
Free planNo sign-up fee; you pay per transaction.No monthly fee; you pay per transaction.No monthly fee listed; you pay per transaction.
Card fee3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)3.98% (paid in 30 days) to 4.98% (right away)4.19% (one-time payment)
Pix fee1.89%0.99%0.99%
Boleto fee3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)R$3.49 per boletoNot public
When you get paidPix within 1 hour; card in 14 or 30 daysPix right away; boleto up to 3 days; card you chooseNext day (with conditions on the site)
SubscriptionsYes, by card (boleto via API only)Yes, by card, Pix, boleto or balanceYes: credit, debit and boleto (no Pix)
Takes PixYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Takes boletoYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Issues nota fiscalNot stated: not statedNot stated: not statedNot stated: not stated
Support in PortugueseYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Before you build
  • The recurring payments API is only for business (PJ) accounts approved in onboarding, and production has to be released by PagBank's integrations team.
  • The recurring checkout and recurring payment link take credit card only. Pix isn't supported for subscriptions.
  • Card and boleto cost 4.99% + R$0.40 to get the money in 14 days, or 3.99% + R$0.40 to wait 30 days.
  • If you offer installments without interest to the buyer, you pay 2.99% a month on them.
  • Pix money arrives in about 1 hour, but that depends on availability and a security review.
  • The card fee depends on when you get the money: 4.98% right away, 4.49% in 14 days or 3.98% in 30 days. The low rate on the ads means waiting a month.
  • Pix through the API only works if your account has a Pix key registered. Without it, Pix doesn't show up for the customer.
  • When a customer opens a complaint or dispute, the money for that sale is held until the mediation is resolved.
  • In card subscriptions, Mercado Pago runs a small test charge to validate the card, and after 3 declined installments the subscription is cancelled automatically.
  • You need an active CNPJ and a website just to become a client. An individual with only a CPF can't sign up.
  • Pix isn't on by default: the team has to approve it, and the review takes up to 3 business days on average.
  • Subscriptions take credit card, debit card and boleto. Pix isn't on the list, so a Pix-first subscription product doesn't fit here.
  • If you refund a Pix, the original Pix fee isn't returned and there's a transfer fee on the refund.
  • Only the Pix and one-time card rates are on the site, and next-day payout comes with an asterisk. Boleto, installments and the payout conditions go through sales.
Price checked

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Prices are read from each official pricing page on the date shown and can change. Always confirm before signing up.

Faundr

Picked your tools? Build it with AI, safely.

Faundr keeps your project’s memory, blocks what can’t be undone and tells you if it’s safe to launch, inside Claude Code and Codex.