Payments in Brazil

Efí vs Asaas vs AbacatePay

Efí, Asaas, AbacatePay side by side: price, free tier, what matters in Brazil, who each one fits and when to skip it.
Item
What it doesBrazilian digital bank and payment API with Pix, boleto, carnê and card, including Pix Automático for recurring charges.Brazilian billing platform that takes Pix, boleto and card, runs subscriptions and issues service invoices from the same account.Developer-first Brazilian gateway for Pix, boleto and card, with flat fees, SDKs and an llms.txt you can hand to an AI to build the integration.
Best forA SaaS that wants to charge its monthly plan through Pix Automático via API, with free boleto issuing and no monthly fee.A Brazilian SaaS that bills monthly by Pix, boleto or card and wants the nota fiscal issued automatically when each charge is paid.A small SaaS with a CNPJ that bills mostly by Pix and wants a flat R$0.80 per charge, money available right away and an integration an AI can write.
Skip it ifYour plan is cheap and paid by boleto, since R$3.45 per paid boleto eats a big share of a small ticket.Most of your revenue is on card and you need the money fast, since card sales land in 32 days unless you pay to advance them.You sell as an individual (CPF only), need split payments for a marketplace or want the nota fiscal issued by the gateway.
SetupNeeds a developer. A day or two for the account and certificate; 2 to 4 days of development for Pix and boleto, more for Pix Automático.Needs a developer. Up to 2 business days for the account review; a basic subscription flow in a day or two.Needs a developer. A Pix checkout in Dev mode in an afternoon; up to 3 business days for production approval.
PricePay per transaction: 1.19% per Pix, R$3.45 per paid boleto, card 3.49%Pay per transaction: R$1.99 per Pix or boleto, card from 2.99% + R$0.49Pay per transaction: R$0.80 per Pix, R$2.50 per paid boleto, card 3.5% + R$0.60
What it costs in practiceA SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49: by Pix Automático, 200 × R$3.50 = R$700 a month (about 7% of revenue); by a regular API Pix the customer pays each month, 1.19% ≈ R$117; by card, 3.49% ≈ R$342 (estimate).A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 paying by Pix, after the first 3 months: 200 × R$1.99 ≈ R$398, plus R$0.49 × 200 ≈ R$98 if you issue the nota fiscal. About R$496 a month, roughly 5% of revenue (estimate). On card it would be 200 × (2.99% of R$49 + R$0.49) ≈ R$391.A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 paying by Pix: 200 × R$0.80 = R$160 a month, about 1.6% of revenue, plus R$0.80 per withdrawal (estimate). On card it would be 200 × (3.5% of R$49 + R$0.60) ≈ R$463.
Free planNo monthly fee or packages; you pay per transaction.No monthly or setup fee; you pay only when a charge is paid.No plan or monthly fee; you pay per transaction.
Card fee3.49% (one-time payment)2.99% + R$0.49 (one-time payment)3.5% + R$0.60 (one-time payment)
Pix fee1.19% (Pix Automático: R$3.50 per Pix)R$1.99 per Pix (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)R$0.80 per Pix
Boleto feeR$3.45 per paid boletoR$1.99 per paid boleto (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)R$2.50 per paid boleto
When you get paidBoleto in 1 business day; card in up to 31 daysCard in 32 days; advance in up to 2 business daysPix right away; boleto up to 3 business days; card in 30 days
SubscriptionsYes, by card, boleto and Pix AutomáticoYes, by card or boletoYes, by Pix or card, weekly to yearly
Takes PixYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Takes boletoYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Issues nota fiscalNot stated: not statedYes: yesNot stated: not stated
Support in PortugueseYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Before you build
  • Pix Automático costs a flat R$3.50 per Pix, while a regular Pix is 1.19%. On a R$49 plan that's R$3.50 instead of about R$0.58.
  • The 30 free Pix a month don't count for Pix received through a key registered in the API or a webhook, which is exactly how an app receives.
  • Card money lands in up to 31 days, and installment sales pay one installment every 31 days unless you pay to advance them.
  • Every Pix API call, including the login one, needs your .p12 certificate. Many serverless hosts make this awkward to set up.
  • Pix Automático is only available on the Efí business digital account, not on the personal one.
  • The R$0.99 Pix and boleto fee only lasts for the first 3 months of the account; after that it doubles to R$1.99. Do your math on R$1.99.
  • Email and SMS reminders cost R$0.99 per paid charge, on top of the Pix, boleto or card fee.
  • Card money arrives in 32 days. Getting it sooner costs 1.25% a month and depends on a credit review, so it isn't guaranteed.
  • Company accounts get 30 free transfers a month; each one after that costs R$2.00, and a TED costs R$5.00.
  • Each nota fiscal costs R$0.49 to issue, so automatic invoicing isn't free.
  • Only companies are accepted (MEI and ME count). With just a CPF you can build in Dev mode but can't take real payments.
  • New accounts start with limits of R$5,000 during the day and R$1,000 at night for withdrawals and payments. Raising them isn't automatic and can take up to 7 business days.
  • Card payments are only switched on after the team reviews your account, and card money lands in 30 days by default.
  • Withdrawals only go to a Pix key under the same CNPJ. The first 20 a month cost R$0.80 each; from the 21st on, R$2.50.
  • Subscriptions default to card. If you use Pix Automático, coupons are refused because the Pix mandate locks the amount.
Price checked

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Prices are read from each official pricing page on the date shown and can change. Always confirm before signing up.

Faundr

Picked your tools? Build it with AI, safely.

Faundr keeps your project’s memory, blocks what can’t be undone and tells you if it’s safe to launch, inside Claude Code and Codex.